Sydney Times

NSW GOVERNMENT NSW Police Information NSW Rural and Fire Service




Minister for Police and Emergency Services David Elliott tonight announced the winners of the 2021 Rotary NSW Emergency Service Community Awards at a ceremony streamed online across the State.

Mr Elliott said the community-nominated awards celebrated the outstanding contribution of emergency services workers and volunteers, such as Surf Life Saving NSW volunteer, Stewart Bailey, who has provided air support over the waters during floods, drownings and missing persons searches for over 35 years. He has not only saved swimmers from drowning, but was also awarded a bravery medal from the Royal Humane Society for a rescue at Clovelly.

“All the winners and finalists are deserving of accolades as it takes a very committed person who values their community to put themselves on the frontline when disaster strikes,” Mr Elliott said.

“There is more than 600 years of combined service from this year’s finalists from locations as far north as Ballina to down south in Albury, and west to Wagga Wagga, and I thank them all for their exceptional service to the community.”

“It was a pleasure to announce the $1000 Dorothy Hennessy OAM Emergency Services Youth Scholarship VRA Rescue NSW trainee, Taliya Smith, who is a courageous and dedicated young volunteer from Narooma.”

The winners come from the following emergency services:

  • Fire and Rescue NSW;
  • SES State Emergency Service;
  • Marine Rescue NSW;
  • Surf Living Saving NSW;
  • NSW Volunteer Rescue Association;
  • NSW Rural Fire Service; and
  • NSW Ambulance.

Rotary District 9675, District Governor, Jeremy Wright AM congratulated this year’s winners who have had distinguished careers responding to fires, drownings, floods and other emergencies.

“Rotary NSW continues to support our emergency services and has also established an additional emergency services scholarship for a PhD candidate to investigate Post Traumatic Stress Disorder in emergency services workers and volunteers,” Mr Wright said.

The winners announced tonight will now represent NSW at the National Awards to be held later this year.

You can find out more information about the Rotary Emergency Services Community Awards here.

The 2021 Rotary NSW Emergency Services Community Awards winners:

Service / Agency Name Position Community or suburb
Fire & Rescue NSW John Dun AFSM Captain/Station Commander Nowra
Marine Rescue NSW Alex Fenwick Base and Boats Officer Port Jackson
Surf Life Saving NSW Stewart Bailey Aircrew/Rescue Crewman North Bondi
NSW Volunteer Rescue Association Allan Sheldon Captain and President, Regional Coordinator Zone 1 Albury
NSW Ambulance Andrew Ryan Southern Zone Operations Manager Woonoona
NSW RFS Wayne Keel Group Officer Halls Creek
NSW SES Anthony McPhail Unit Commander The Rock
NSW Volunteer Rescue Association Taliya Smith Squad Trainee Narooma


About the author

State Correspondent

error: Content is protected !!